Yes Man by Danny Wallace – A Book Review

One Little Word Can Change Your Life!

yesman

I enjoyed last week’s book Back Story by David Mitchell (review here) so much that I wanted to stay in a similar genre for my evening walks. I chose Yes Man by Danny Wallace, I’d had the audiobook for a while but hadn’t listened to it, then the other day I came across the book in a charity shop and had to buy it. Danny Wallace is a comedian/presenter/author that sometimes crops up on TV; less well known than David Mitchell, but still I was aware of him. And now I could switch back and forth between reading and listening as convenience dictated. What happened in practice was I started the book, was enjoying it so I switched to the audiobook for my walks and enjoyed it even more. It wasn’t until I began to write this review I realised the audiobook was an abridged version and that I’d missed all sorts in the actual book. I will have to read the whole thing another time. So this is in essence a review of the audiobook abridged version of Yes Man (audible link here).

sayyes.jpg

The book is an elaboration of his diary over the better part of a year as he undertakes the role of Yes Man. After a chance encounter on a bus when someone inadvertently tells him to say yes more, Danny Wallace embarks on an adventure to not only say yes more, but to say yes to everything. This is hugely entertaining, the strange encounters, odd experiences and unexpected successes are both ridiculous and believable.

This book has something for everyone, there’s a challenge, a nemesis, UFO groups, Maitreya, money, a love story and an unexpected nursing degree to name a few highlights. There’s also an amusing story about persistently poking a monk, I mean truly everybody will find something to enjoy in here. The writing style is easy, it flows well through the year, it rounds up tidily, it’s light, it’s funny and never dull. This is yet another book that I enjoyed more for being read by its author, I think this may the best way for all biography style books.

yesman-bluray01

You may think this has been done before in the hilarious comedy Yes Man starring Jim Carrey (incidentally one of the few films of his I like), however you would be wrong, the film is in fact based on this adventure, or at least on the concept of this experiment.

The concept is brilliant, and one I intend to embrace this year, to be open to opportunities can lead to great things.

Say Yes More!

Leave a Reply

