Thinks I To Myself – An Audio Recording

thinksItoMyself

‘Thinks I to Myself: A Serio Ludicro, Tragico Comico Tale’, is a little known book written by Edward Nares, published in 1811. Due to its age it is in the public domain and so can be legally made into an audiobook without infringing any copyright laws; which is precisely what I am intending to do.

I came across this book a few years ago online, I can’t even remember what I was looking for at the time but its quirky, slightly off beat view of the world kept me entertained until the very end. The novel is told from the point of view of a young man as he observes the interactions of all the different people around him. The visits his parents receive and the following discussions, the neighbour’s conversations anhered subsequent actions and all social events are ruminated upon from a very innocent, almost naïve outlook. Its public domain status means you can download it free online from a few places, google books and archive.org are just two of them.

My attempts at turning this into an audiobook have already begun and part 1 can be found on youtube here.

Leave a Reply

